Want Tasty Empanadas? Get On Over to Cafe Tola in Lakeview

Cafe Tola, the to-go espresso and empanada bar, is a great addition to Lakeview.  What it lacks in size it makes up in color and flavor.

Cafe Tola Front

This tiny spot is brightly decorated and uses every square inch for either food or Latin American tchotchkes like luchador masks. The staff is very friendly and expedites the ever-present line efficiently making it the perfect grab and go spot. The empanadas are made in-house with the menu changing daily. I would suggest getting there early because they do sell out. Cafe Tola has it all, it’s quick, quality food and the price is great for the amount of food you get.

Here’s a taste of what they offer:

Sizzling steak, mushroom and peppers, Roasted Poblano Pepper & Chihuahua Cheese, Beef Sirloin, Grilled Veggie, Mole Chicken, Chicken Salsa Verde, Chipotle Chicken

Cafe Tola Window

Sounds good, right? The empanadas are nice and flaky and filled to the max. I have experienced the half-filled empanadas, muy triste. These guys fill ‘em up so two can easily fill you up. Look at that deliciousness:

Image via Cafe Tola Facebook

Image via Cafe Tola Facebook

Mole con Pollo‏ Empanada

Mole con Pollo‏ Empanada

If empandas aren’t your thing they also offer homemade chips and guacamole, tamales, quesadillas and more depending on the day. If you aren’t feeling anything savory you can get mango & farmers cheese empanada, Red Velvet donuts, and cinnamon rolls.

Need a beverage to wash that down? Plenty of coffee and tea latte drinks for you to choose from. I am hoping they have Mexican hot chocolate next time I go in. The only thing that would make Cafe Tola better is a patio space in time for summer.

4 thoughts on “Want Tasty Empanadas? Get On Over to Cafe Tola in Lakeview

  1. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting
    things or advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to
    this article. I want to read even more things about it!

  2. I don’t drop a bunch of comments, but i did a few searching and
    wound up here Want Tasty Empanadas? Get On Over to Cafe Tola
    in Lakeview | Alicia Tastes Life. And I actually do have 2 questions for
    you if it’s allright. Is it only me or does it seem like some of these comments appear like left by brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are posting on other sites, I’d like to follow everything
    new you have to post. Could you make a list of the complete urls of all your community pages like
    your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  3. Hi there I am so glad I found your blog page, I really found you by error, while I
    was searching on Google for something else, Nonetheless I am here now
    and would just like to say thanks for a fantastic post and a all
    round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the
    superb work.

What do you think?